Faculty Directory

The civil and environmental engineering faculty and staff are committed to providing a quality education for the department's undergraduate and graduate students. Faculty members have received numerous teaching and research awards including the College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching and Applied Research Award, the Society of Women Engineers Most Supportive Professor Award, the College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award, and the Cal Poly Distinguished Teaching Award (the University's highest teaching honor).

The civil and environmental engineering faculty team is comprised of tenured and tenure-track faculty and part-time lecturers. All of the tenured and tenure-track faculty have doctorate degrees in civil or environmental engineering or closely related fields. An overwhelming majority of these faculty members are registered Professional Engineers in California. All of the faculty have some level of practical experience in government or industry.  Our lecturers are typically practicing engineers and are valued for bringing their practical experience into the classroom.

Click here for Staff contact information.

Click here for Faculty Office Hours.

Faculty

Environmental

NameEmailOffice
Mladen Bandov - Lecturer mbandov@calpoly.edu 13-209
Hal Cota - Professor Emeritus hcota@calpoly.edu
Amro El Badawy - Research Scholar and Lecturer aelbadaw@calpoly.edu 13-108A
Tryg Lundquist - Professor tlundqui@calpoly.edu 13-211
Richard Martin - Lecturer rmart160@calpoly.edu 13-210
Yarrow Nelson - Professor ynelson@calpoly.edu 116-206
Rebekah Oulton - Assistant Professor roulton@calpoly.edu 13-215
Nirupam Pal - Professor npal@calpoly.edu 13-207
Tracy Thatcher - Professor tthatche@calpoly.edu 13-271
Sam Vigil - Professor Emeritus svigil@calpoly.edu 13-209

Geotechnical

NameEmailOffice
Nephi Derbidge - Lecturer nderbidg@calpoly.edu 13-213
Gregg Fiegel - Professor gfiegel@calpoly.edu 13-262
Jim Hanson - Professor jahanson@calpoly.edu 13-258
Babak Kamranimoghaddam - Lecturer bkamrani@calpoly.edu 13-268
Judd King - Lecturer jking35@calpoly.edu 13-268
Robb Moss - Professor rmoss@calpoly.edu 13-217
Kelly Robinson - Lecturer knelson@calpoly.edu 13-268

Structural

NameEmailOffice
Charles Chadwell - Department Chair - Professor chadwell@calpoly.edu 13-266
Kevin Devaney - Lecturer kdevaney@calpoly.edu 13-233
Mario Esola - Lecturer mesola@calpoly.edu 13-219
Rakesh Goel - Associate Dean, College of Engineering rgoel@calpoly.edu 192-305
Andy Guyader - Lecturer aguyader@calpoly.edu 13-219
Garrett Hall - Professor gjhall@calpoly.edu 192-128
David Houghton - Lecturer djhought@calpoly.edu 13-209
Dan Jansen - Professor djansen@calpoly.edu 13-222
Damian Kachlakev - Professor dkachlak@calpoly.edu 192-127
Eric Kasper - Professor ekasper@calpoly.edu 192-129
Bing Qu - Associate Professor bqu@calpoly.edu 13-206

Transportation

NameEmailOffice
David Beard - Lecturer dbeard@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Alypios Chatziioanou - Professor achatzii@calpoly.edu 13-220
Eugene Jud - Lecturer Emeritus ejud@calpoly.edu 04-03
Billy Leu - Lecturer bleu@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Kimberley Mastako - Lecturer kmastako@calpoly.edu 04-05
Anurag Pande - Associate Professor apande@calpoly.edu 13-212
Ashraf Rahim - Professor arahim@calpoly.edu 13-225
Paul Valadao - Lecturer pvaladao@calpoly.edu 13-220

Water Resources

NameEmailOffice
Kurt Lo - Professor Emeritus klo@calpoly.edu
Misgana Muleta - Associate Professor mmuleta@calpoly.edu 13-214
Rebekah Oulton - Assistant Professor 13-215
Shikha Rahman - Professor rahman@calpoly.edu 13-208

Staff

NameEmailOffice
Kay Kibbe - Administrative Coordinator kkibbe@calpoly.edu 13-266
Ron Leverett - Network Analyst rleveret@calpoly.edu 21-127
Xi Shen - Laboratory Supervisor xshen@calpoly.edu 13-201A
Amy Sinclair - Administrative Analyst aesincla@calpoly.edu 13-266

Adjunct Faculty

NameEmailOffice
Francesca Antonelli - Lecturer fantonel@calpoly.edu 92M-B109
Brett Hadley - Lecturer bdhadley@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Ralph Schell - Lecturer rschell@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Daniel See - Lecturer dsee@calpoly.edu 92M-B109
Wesley Thompson - Lecturer wthompso@calpoly.edu 92M-B109
Charles Weir - Lecturer cweir@calpoly.edu 92M-B109

Graduate Teaching Assistants

NameEmailOffice
Ian Buchanan - Teaching Associate, CE 204 isbuchan@calpoly.edu 13-202
Austin Cunniff - Teaching Associate, CE 337 adcunnif@calpoly.edu OH in 192-136
David Galvez - Teaching Associate, CE 204 dmgalvez@calpoly.edu 13-202
Evan Low - Teaching Associate, CE 337 eplow@calpoly.edu OH in 192-136
Greg McLorg - Teaching Associate, CE 204 gmclorg@calpoly.edu 13-202
Delaney Nelson - Teaching Associate, CE 337 dnelso09@calpoly.edu OH in 192-136
Jorge Pluma Reyes - Teaching Associate, CE 204 jplumare@calpoly.edu 13-202
Matthew Ramos - Teaching Associate, CE 204 mramos17@calpoly.edu 13-202
Michael Rumery - Teaching Associate, CE 204 mrumery@calpoly.edu 13-202
Scott Smith - Teaching Associate, CE 337 ssmith107@calpoly.edu OH in 192-136
John Stern - Teaching Associate, CE 204 jrstern@calpoly.edu 13-202

Research Scholars

NameEmailOffice
Aleksandra Wydzga - Research Scholar awydzga@calpoly.edu 13-266
Nazli Yesiller - Research Scholar and Co-Director of the Global Waste Research Institute nyesille@calpoly.edu 21-241