Faculty & Staff

Faculty engaging with students

The civil and environmental engineering faculty and staff are committed to providing a quality education for the department's undergraduate and graduate students. Faculty members have received numerous teaching and research awards including the College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching and Applied Research Award, the Society of Women Engineers Most Supportive Professor Award, the College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award, and the Cal Poly Distinguished Teaching Award (the University's highest teaching honor).

Our faculty team is comprised of tenured and tenure-track faculty, part-time lecturers, and graduate student teaching associates. All of the tenured and tenure-track faculty have doctorate degrees in civil or environmental engineering or closely related fields. An overwhelming majority of these faculty members are registered Professional Engineers in California. All of the faculty have some level of practical experience in government and/or industry. Our lecturers are typically practicing engineers and are valued for bringing their practical experience into the classroom.

Faculty Office Hours coming soon.

Faculty


Construction Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Hani Alzraiee - Assistant Professor     halzraie@calpoly.edu 13-268
Charles Chadwell - Department  Chair - Professor   chadwell@calpoly.edu 13-266
David Houghton - Lecturer djhought@calpoly.edu 13-219

Environmental Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Mladen Bandov - Lecturer mbandov@calpoly.edu 13-233
Hal Cota - Professor Emeritus hcota@calpoly.edu  
Amro El Badawy - Assistant Professor aelbadaw@calpoly.edu 13-209
Tryg Lundquist - Professor tlundqui@calpoly.edu 13-211
Richard Martin - Lecturer rmart160@calpoly.edu 13-210
Yarrow Nelson - Professor ynelson@calpoly.edu 116-206
Rebekah Oulton - Assistant Professor roulton@calpoly.edu 13-215
Nirupam Pal - Professor npal@calpoly.edu 13-207
Tracy Thatcher - Professor tthatche@calpoly.edu 13-271
Sam Vigil - Professor Emeritus svigil@calpoly.edu 13-220

Geotechnical Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Nephi Derbidge - Lecturer nderbidg@calpoly.edu 13-213
Gregg Fiegel - Professor gfiegel@calpoly.edu 13-262
Jim Hanson - Professor jahanson@calpoly.edu 13-258
Justin Hollenback - Lecturer jhollenb@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Babak Kamranimoghaddam - Lecturer bkamrani@calpoly.edu 13-217
Judd King - Lecturer jking35@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Robb Moss - Professor (on leave 2018/19) rmoss@calpoly.edu 13-217

Structural Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Charles Chadwell - Department Chair - Professor chadwell@calpoly.edu 13-266
Kevin Devaney - Lecturer kdevaney@calpoly.edu 13-233
Mario Esola - Lecturer mesola@calpoly.edu 13-219
Rakesh Goel - Associate Dean, College of Engineering rgoel@calpoly.edu 192-305
Andy Guyader - Lecturer aguyader@calpoly.edu 192-127
Garrett Hall - Professor gjhall@calpoly.edu 192-128
Dan Jansen - Professor djansen@calpoly.edu 13-222
Damian Kachlakev - Professor (on leave 2018/19) dkachlak@calpoly.edu 192-127
Eric Kasper - Professor ekasper@calpoly.edu 192-129
Bing Qu - Associate Professor bqu@calpoly.edu 13-206

Transportation Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Kimberley Mastako - Lecturer kmastako@calpoly.edu 04-05
Anurag Pande - Associate Professor apande@calpoly.edu 13-212
Ashraf Rahim - Professor (on leave Winter 2019) arahim@calpoly.edu 13-225
Paul Valadao - Lecturer pvaladao@calpoly.edu 13-220
Carole Voulgaris - Assistant Professor cvoulgar@calpoly.edu 13-227

Water Resources Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Simin Akbariyeh - Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow sakbariy@calpoly.edu 13-208
Misgana Muleta - Professor mmuleta@calpoly.edu 13-214
Rebekah Oulton - Assistant Professor roulton@calpoly.edu 13-215
Shikha Rahman - Professor (on leave 2018/19) rahman@calpoly.edu 04-01

Staff

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Amy Sinclair - Administrative Analyst and assistant to the Chair aesincla@calpoly.edu 13-266
Kay Kibbe - Administrative Coordinator kkibbe@calpoly.edu 13-266
Alex Ramos - IT Consultant aramos48@calpoly.edu 21-127
Xi Shen - Laboratory/Equipment Supervisor xshen@calpoly.edu 13-108A
Nephi Derbidge - Geotech Lab Supervisor nderbidg@calpoly.edu 13-213
Ilianna Salas - Public Relations Specialist isalas@calpoly.edu 13-266

Adjunct Faculty

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Francesca Antonelli - Lecturer fantonel@calpoly.edu 92M-B109
Wyatt Banker-Hix - Lecturer wbankerh@calpoly.edu 13-210
Casey Flaten - Lecturer cflaten@calpoly.edu 13-210
Ralph Schell - Lecturer rschell@calpoly.edu OH in 192-208
Daniel See - Lecturer dsee@calpoly.edu 92M-B109
Wesley Thompson - Lecturer wthompso@calpoly.edu 92M-B109
Charles Weir - Lecturer cweir@calpoly.edu 92M-B109

Graduate Teaching Assistants

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Kyle Aube - Teaching Associate, CE 337 kyaube@calpoly.edu OH in 192-136
Matthew Beutler - Teaching Associate, CE 204 mbeutler@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Foster Campbell - Teaching Associate, CE 337 fjcampbe@calpoly.edu OH in 192-136
Michael Clark - Teaching Associate, CE 204 mclark28@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Andrea Flores - Teaching Associate, CE 204 eflore67@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Dezire Perez-Barbante - Teaching Associate, CE 204 dperezba@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Jessica Ramirez - Teaching Associate, CE 204 ramirezb@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Sarah Shaffer - Teaching Associate, CE 204 sshaff01@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Lizzie Wiley - Teaching Associate, CE 337 ekwiley@calpoly.edu OH in 192-136

Research Scholars

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Aleksandra Wydzga - Research Scholar awydzga@calpoly.edu 13-266
Nazli Yesiller - Research Scholar and Co-Director of the Global Waste Research Institute nyesille@calpoly.edu 21-241

Related Content