Faculty & Staff

Department group

The civil and environmental engineering faculty and staff are committed to providing a quality education for the department's undergraduate and graduate students. 

Our faculty team is comprised of tenured and tenure-track faculty, part-time lecturers, and graduate student teaching associates. All of the tenured and tenure-track faculty have doctorate degrees in civil or environmental engineering or closely related fields. Many of our faculty members are registered Professional Engineers in California. All of the faculty have some level of practical experience in government and/or industry. Our lecturers are typically practicing engineers and are valued for bringing their practical experience into the classroom.

Faculty


Construction Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Hani Alzraiee - Assistant Professor     halzraie@calpoly.edu 13-268
Charles Chadwell - Department  Chair - Professor   chadwell@calpoly.edu 13-266
David Houghton - Adjunct Faculty djhought@calpoly.edu 13-210
David VanMuyden - Adjunct Faculty dvanmuyd@calpoly.edu 13-266

Environmental Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Mladen Bandov - Adjunct Faculty mbandov@calpoly.edu 13-233
Hal Cota - Professor Emeritus hcota@calpoly.edu  
Amro El Badawy - Assistant Professor aelbadaw@calpoly.edu 13-209
Tryg Lundquist - Professor (on leave 2019/20) tlundqui@calpoly.edu 13-211
Richard Martin - Adjunct Faculty rmart160@calpoly.edu 13-262
Yarrow Nelson - Professor Emeritus ynelson@calpoly.edu 116-206
Rebekah Oulton - Associate Professor roulton@calpoly.edu 13-215
Nirupam Pal - Professor (on leave 2019/20) npal@calpoly.edu 13-207
Tracy Thatcher - Professor tthatche@calpoly.edu 13-271
Sam Vigil - Professor Emeritus svigil@calpoly.edu 13-210

Geotechnical Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Nephi Derbidge - Adjunct Faculty nderbidg@calpoly.edu 13-213
Gregg Fiegel - Professor gfiegel@calpoly.edu 35-510
Dahlia Hafez - Adjunct Faculty dhafez@calpoly.edu 21-141
Jim Hanson - Professor jahanson@calpoly.edu 13-258
Babak Kamranimoghaddam - Adjunct Faculty bkamrani@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Judd King - Adjunct Faculty jking35@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Robb Moss - Professor rmoss@calpoly.edu 13-217
Ben Turner - Adjunct Faculty bjturner@calpoly.edu 13-210

Structural Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Charles Chadwell - Department Chair - Professor chadwell@calpoly.edu 13-266
Kevin Devaney - Adjunct Faculty kdevaney@calpoly.edu 92M-A104
Reza Eslami - Adjunct Faculty moeslami@calpoly.edu 13-211
Mario Esola - Adjunct Faculty mesola@calpoly.edu 13-219
Rakesh Goel - Exec. Assoc. Dean, College of Engineering rgoel@calpoly.edu 192-305
Andy Guyader - Adjunct Faculty aguyader@calpoly.edu 13-219
Garrett Hall - Professor gjhall@calpoly.edu 192-128
Christof Hausser - Visiting Professor, Munich University of Applied Sciences chausser@calpoly.edu 13-262
Daniel Jansen - Professor djansen@calpoly.edu 13-263
Damian Kachlakev - Professor dkachlak@calpoly.edu 192-127
Eric Kasper - Professor ekasper@calpoly.edu 192-129
Bing Qu - Professor bqu@calpoly.edu 13-206
Nick Wetzel - Adjunct Faculty nwetzel@calpoly.edu 13-262

Transportation Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
David Beard - Adjunct Faculty dbeard@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Billy Leu - Adjunct Faculty bleu@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Kimberley Mastako - Adjunct Faculty kmastako@calpoly.edu 04-05
Anurag Pande - Professor apande@calpoly.edu 13-212
Ashraf Rahim - Professor arahim@calpoly.edu 13-225
Paul Valadao - Adjunct Faculty pvaladao@calpoly.edu 13-220

Water Resources Engineering

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Amando Garza - Adjunct Faculty aggarza@calpoly.edu 92M-A104
Misgana Muleta - Professor mmuleta@calpoly.edu 13-214
Rebekah Oulton - Associate Professor roulton@calpoly.edu 13-215
Shikha Rahman - Professor rahman@calpoly.edu 04-01
Todd Robinson - Adjunct Faculty trobinso@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Stefan Talke - Associate Professor stalke@calpoly.edu 13-216
Kari Wagner - Adjunct Faculty kwagne07@calpoly.edu 13-266

Adjunct Faculty

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Wyatt Banker-Hix - Adjunct Faculty wbankerh@calpoly.edu 13-210
Preston Jones - Adjunct Faculty pljones@calpoly.edu 92M-B109
Ralph Schell - Adjunct Faculty rschell@calpoly.edu 92M-A102
Daniel See - Adjunct Faculty dsee@calpoly.edu 92M-B109
Wesley Thompson - Adjunct Faculty wthompso@calpoly.edu 92M-B109
Charles Weir - Adjunct Faculty cweir@calpoly.edu 92M-B109

Postdoctoral Teaching Fellows

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Amirarsalan Molan - Transportation Engineering amolan@calpoly.edu 13-222
Alireza Shams - Transportation Engineering alshams@calpoly.edu 13-220
Mehnaz Shams - Environmental Engineering meshams@calpoly.edu 13-207

Graduate Teaching Associates

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Julia Allen - Teaching Associate, CE 204 jallen46@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Darren Fagundes - Teaching Associate, CE 204 dfagund@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Mark Haski Berger - Teaching Associate, CE 204 mhaskibe@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Jonathan Mahmoud - Teaching Associate, CE 204 jmahmoud@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Madison Sams - Teaching Associate, CE 204 mlsams@calpoly.edu 13-125B
Brad Williams - Teaching Associate, CE 204 bwilli58@calpoly.edu 13-125B

Staff

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Amy Sinclair - Administrative Analyst and Assistant to the Chair aesincla@calpoly.edu 13-266
Kay Kibbe - Administrative Coordinator kkibbe@calpoly.edu 13-266
Ilianna Salas - Public Relations Specialist isalas@calpoly.edu 13-266
Alex Ramos - IT Consultant aramos48@calpoly.edu 21-127
Xi Shen - Laboratory/Equipment Supervisor xshen@calpoly.edu 13-108A
Nephi Derbidge - Geotechnical Lab Supervisor nderbidg@calpoly.edu 13-213

Research Scholars

NAME EMAIL OFFICE
Aleksandra Wydzga - Research Scholar awydzga@calpoly.edu 13-266
Nazli Yesiller - Research Scholar and Co-Director of the Global Waste Research Institute nyesille@calpoly.edu 21-241

Related Content