Industrial Advisory Board


Faculty and Industry Professionals Working Together

The Civil and Environmental Engineering Department's Advisory Board is a group of industry leaders who volunteer their time to support the department. The mission of the Advisory Board is to assist the department in maintaining the excellence of its civil and environmental engineering programs and to encourage the department to continue its commitment to providing its students with "hands-on" engineering education. 

The Advisory Board's principal role is to provide advice regarding the civil and environmental engineering program curricula. The Board has also been very successful in the past in securing laboratory donations and raising funds for the two programs. In addition, the Board provides mentoring to those students interested in learning more about the civil and environmental engineering professions. 

Since 1999 the Advisory Board has sponsored its own "Professional Advancement Award." Each year, top students in the civil and environmental engineering programs are selected for this award based on scholarship, work experience, professional activities, and community service. Recipients receive a plaque as well as a cash award.

The current Chair of the Advisory Board is Chris Metzger, Vice President of Mott MacDonald.

Craig Anderson Anderson Regulatory Solutions, Principal
Jim Blois Blois Construction, CEO/President
Mike Chesney Transportation Corridor Agencies, Chief Strategy Officer
Susanne Cooper Jensen Design & Survey, Inc., Engineering Manager
Andrew Fremier Metropolitan Transportation Commission, Deputy Executive Director, Operations
Christy Gabler North Coast Engineering, Vice President/COO
John Gregg Gregg Dilling & Testing, President
Tim Gubbins California Department of Transportation, District 5 Director
Amy Hackney Simpson Gumpertz & Heger, Assoc Principal, Vice President
Randell Iwasaki Amazon Web Services,  Leader, State and Local Transportation
Doug Johnson Stantec, Vice President - Community Development
Steve Kahn Cannon, Civil Senior Principal Engineer
Robert Kull Stratus Environmental, Inc., Principal Engineer
Ken Lindberg Power Engineering Construction, Vice President
Jeremy Lopez Whiting-Turner Contracting Co., Leed AP, Project Manager
Jeff Mathieu Tetra Tech, Vice President and Operations Manager
Dale Melville Provost and Pritchard Consulting Group, Principal Engineer
Chris Metzger Mott MacDonald, Vice President/Area Manager - South Bay
Timothy O'Connor O'Connor Program Management LLC, Managing Partner
Cary Ronan Langan Engineering and Environmental Services, Senior Project Manager
Greg Scott Webcor, Project Director - Concrete Group
Erin Steiner Cornerstone Earth Group, Principal Geotechnical Engineer
Nate Stong Rick Engineering, Senior Transportation Engineer
Jeffrey Szytel Water Systems Consulting, Founder & President
Truitt Vance Ashley & Vance Engineering, Inc., President, CEO and Principal Engineer
Kari Wagner Wallace Group, Principal
Jay Walter GHD, Engineering Manager
Ronald Williams Jacobs Engineering Group, Senior Vice President/West Region Director
Kevin Zucco ZFA Structural Engineer, Executive Principal

Related Content