Industrial Advisory Board

Faculty and Industry Professionals Working Together

The Civil and Environmental Engineering Department's Advisory Board is a group of over twenty-five industry leaders who volunteer their time to support the department. The current membership roster lists IAB members and their affiliated corporations (below). The mission of the Advisory Board is to assist the department in maintaining the excellence of its civil and environmental engineering programs and to encourage the department to continue its commitment to providing its students with a "hands-on" engineering education. 

Group Picture of the Industry Advisory Board

The Advisory Board's principal role is to provide advice regarding the civil and environmental engineering program curricula. The Board has also been very successful in the past in securing laboratory donations and raising funds for the two programs. In addition, the Board provides mentoring to those students interested in learning more about the civil and environmental engineering professions. 

Since 1999 the Advisory Board has sponsored its own "Professional Advancement Award." Each year, top students in the civil and environmental engineering programs are selected for this award based on scholarship, work experience, professional activities, and community service. Recipients receive a plaque as well as a cash award.

The current Chair of the Advisory Board is Chris Metzger, Vice President of Mott MacDonald.

David Akers Concrete Consultants
Craig Anderson Solar Turbines
Robert Bilbro Bilbro Group Northwest, Inc.
John Blasius BLS Group LLC
Michael Cannon Cannon
Frank Cechini Cechini Transportation Management Services
Mike Chesney Transportation Corridor Agencies
Richard Dreyer Holmes Culley Structural Engineers
Andrew Fremier Metropolitan Transportation Commission
Christy Gabler North Coast Engineering
John Gregg Gregg Dilling & Testing
Tim Gubbins California Department of Transportation
Amy Hackney Simpson Gumpertz & Heger
Teresa Herrera Silicon Valley Clean Water
Randell Iwasaki Contra Costa Transportation Authority
Robert Kull Stratus Environmental, Inc.
Ken Lindberg Power Engineering Construction
Thomas Martin Rick Engineering
Jeff Mathieu Tetra Tech
Dale Melville Provost and Pritchard Consulting Group
Chris Metzger Mott MacDonald
Timothy O'Connor O'Connor Program Management LLC
Cary Ronan Langan Engineering and Environmental Services
Steve Sanders SAGE Engineers, Inc.
Jeffrey Szytel Water Systems Consulting
Rosemary Thompson Cardno
Kari Wagner Wallace Group