Cal Poly is Top U.S. Team at Steel Bridge Competition

Cal Poly’s Steel Bridge team was tops among national competitors and finished second overall at the annual American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) National Student Steel Bridge Competition, which brought together 48 student teams from across the world.

École de Technologie Supérieure, from Montreal, placed first, and the University of Florida finished third at the competition hosted by Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah, May 27-28.

Cal Poly’s strong showing marked the school’s sixth straight year of placing in the event’s top 10, and its second straight year as runner-up.

The competition—which celebrated its 25th anniversary this year—is designed as a comprehensive, real-world student project that includes structural design, fabrication, construction planning and execution, and load testing. It’s an extreme test of teamwork and project management as students race to produce a scale-model bridge that satisfies stringent requirements in the categories of stiffness, lightness, construction speed, display, efficiency and economy.

Cal Poly Steel Bridge team members included senior captains Steven Haugaard, project manager; Elizabeth Coffey, machining lead; Drew Glover, welding lead; Jimmyhee Quach, construction lead; Tyler van Iderstein, design lead; junior captains Matthew Ramos, Stephen Hager, Jessica Ramirez, Hannah Lancaster, John Stern, Jonathan Diaz, Sara Lashanlo, Kai Ling Liang; and rookie captains Michael Clark, Sarah Shaffer, Gabriela Pascualy, Mitra Fakhry, Brandon Marchell, Julian Lodi, Elaina Ryan, Hayat Hakim and Ryan Harrington. Eric Kasper is faculty advisor.

Complete rankings are available at Next year’s national competition will be held May 26-27 at Oregon State University in Corvallis, Ore.

# # #          


Elizabeth Coffey, a Cal Poly Steel Bridge captain, holds the ASCE Pacific Southwest Conference award. It was the team’s ticket to the National Student Steel Bridge Competition, where Cal Poly placed second overall and was the top-performing U.S. team. Other team captains pictured, left to right: Drew Glover, Tyler van Iderstein, Jimmyhee Quach and Steven Haugaard.


Read more here


Related Content